Pie

We’re at a time where where have weak, physically incompetent people kicking up a fuss over and getting all paranoid over ‘safety’ in sports.

I don’t discount that tragic accidents have happened, and they are upsetting, but the fact remains that such incidences are indeed rare and sometimes are caused by negligence or fault of the victims themselves. It is the human mind that tends to focus on that rare unfortunate incident, because it just plain sticks out. Every day, for years, things run smoothly and normally but that’s boring so it pales in comparison.

All these people who are so afraid should take a look at rugby players. Their sport involves running into people and falling down a lot. They’re fine. And we’ve got tiny kids playing the sport too.

After one tragic incident, everything looks like it can ‘topple over at any time’. What are we talking about here, poltergeists?? Unless there’s an earthquake, things don’t simply topple over unless they’re very unstable to begin with. Don’t be surprised if one day you find tables, chairs, cupboards, lamp posts and what have you all securely fastened to the ground so it won’t TOPPLE OVER AND HURT SOMEONE.

THIS UPSETS ME SEVERELY BECAUSE WE ARE PASSING ON AN EXAGGERATED FEAR COMPLEX AND EXTERNAL LOCUS OF CONTROL TO OUR KIDS, WHO WILL GROW UP TO BE SEVERELY OUT OF SYNC WITH THE PHYSICAL WORLD AND WHO THINK IT PERFECTLY FINE TO START BLAMING THIS THING AND THAT PERSON WHEN THINGS GO WRONG. 

SOMETIMES IT’S OUR FAULT SO PLEASE WE MUST HAVE THE GRACE TO ACCEPT IT AND JUST MOVE ON. NOT EVERY INCIDENT REQUIRES A RELOOKING AT EVERYTHING AND SOMETIMES ACCIDENTS DO HAPPEN. THEY ARE CALLED ‘ACCIDENTS’ FOR A REASON; SO MUCH IS OUT OF OUR HANDS AND SIMPLY BEYOND OUR ABILITY TO CONTROL, INFLUENCE AND/OR PREVENT.

On the bright side it’s a good sign that people can sit down and discuss things in a civil manner. It’s also a good thing that we seem to care for one another.

But really, most of it is starting to get sorely unbearable. Many people have discussed this phenomena of being over protective, overly cautious and carrying a false sense of control. At this point this environment sickens me and as much as I feel I need to and can do things to improve the state of things, I also really just wanna get the heaven out of here.

Sigh… I’m sighing and I’m not one to sigh. I hate what this job has become and I’m embarrassed to be a part of it. I don’t wanna offend anyone yet I know I can’t speak the truth, however tactfully, without stepping on some toes.

If you were offended by this then maybe you’re one of them, but know this: I don’t hate you. I get it, you’ve got something to lose and God I know how that feels. It’s scary, unreal, and a painful truth.

But its okay, we’ll be okay, we’re all in this together. Your pain is my pain and I’m not gonna let anything happen to your loved one simply because they are connected to me too. We are all alive, that is a most powerful binding factor.

We will be okay. Do things out of love and logic, not fear and out of force, because the latter will undo the good we do.

Leave a Reply

