2 Periment

I wanted to write a rap but got distracted and carried away hah. This is what it shaped up to be, I’m putting it here so it’ll grow.

In this life I’ve been told far too many things

From no trespassing, payment with interest, no you can’t stay

But all these things that you put in us

And cook us in well

Only go so far to hurt us when things don’t go as planned

Cos all these rules and these guidelines

We don’t so much like them

Yet you force on us like forced on you and them and them too

What we need is a consensus and an understanding of being

That positively promotes a better state of being

Cos with the lines that you draw

And the walls that you build

You only trap yourselves inside of ‘em and later die underneath

When the walls fall lines break tables are turned

You’ll find that no constitution or bill can haul your ass through

Yet the problem lies in not the way it was made

But in the very core reason that made these issues take shape

In our lives and in our minds everyday there ain’t no escape

Cos the truth is that we’d be nothing if we don’t shackle ourselves

There’s people out there

Loads and loads of souls

Who’d do whatever they can to get wherever they go

And when there’s something in their way

An obstruction

Collision

The evil doer does what evil he can to stay ahead in the game

‘course its not always necessary, its not even always a game

But as I said these people don’t take no for an answer man they don’t take shit

And as an outcome they’re a danger to whoever they meet

Even themselves

Their families friends and wife and kids and parents and neighbours

These are the kinda extreme tendencies that cause us to quake

Shake

Break

This fear, then perpetuates

When time after time you see how no one can be trusted

And in this blindness of our fright and this desire to survive

We set upon ourselves the task to bring down these foes

And then we forget that we’ll be a part of it,

Hell all the good guys too,

And all the greys who might not turn out as bad as Jack or the boss of the third reich

Then we just go about it, work our butts off, write it all down

Till in the end we make a prison that we locked ourselves in so no one can get us

But these bars they’re just bars and nothing more that holed walls

And people get through and they still do mess around

And spoil what was good

And from the inside, there’s rot too, its not always seen

But when it surfaces it’s merciless to all in its wake

So we try to run but oopsie daisy me the key was not made

Hell the lock is not a lock everything was just sealed into place

Now we cry and we wail the loss of what we held high

Lost to the tyranny of people

People just like us, people,

But with their hearts in their asses

Tell ‘em again then what we said was wrong with the system

But they won’t listen cos you see to them we’re just another new problem

They’re still afraid and maybe preying on someone else in the back

But using what they held upright for so long that was to prolong the good and the great

Damn this is a mess I wish I wasn’t a part of

But it’s the life I was brought into and so I’m now

Like a pawn on a chessboard

Only it ain’t so much a chessboard but a stage like in plays

Cos all of us is actors and we choose the parts we play

So amma be the Hercules or Jerkules or whatever’s his name

The antagonist, protagonist and hell even economist

Amma stand my place and say my say and do as I may

Till I bring this fire-breathing dragon off o’ the stage

And I’ll raise my sword to all the villains who stand in my way

Then scene change props move actors anew

Its me again but who is that, the king you say?

I’ll cut him down and all his men and ride to his castle

Then burn their walls and all of its inner evil corruptness

I’ll take a ship and sail the seas in search of the Hydra

Then cut it down but wait not off with the head

See there’s ways of killing a monster if you go to it first

And that’s about what I was trying to say in my verse

But as usual

(Delusional)

I got carried away

So I’ll say it once and say it plain that you may hear straight

This world is a broken and I’m gonna go fix it

You can come along too if you’re sick of the shit you’re knee-deep in

Leave a comment